Hilary Levey Friedman



A Family Action Network (FAN) Presentation

HILARY LEVEY FRIEDMAN
Wednesday, April 23
7 pm, Attea Middle School at 2500 Chestnut Ave., Glenview
 
Hear Harvard sociologist Hilary Levey Friedman speak on the subject "Playing to Win: Raising Healthy, Competitive Children," the subject of her new book Playing to Win: Raising Children in a Competitive Culture. 
Taking a distinct approach that draws on the work of educators, historians, and psychologists -- along with her own research on over 100 families  -- her book discusses how parents can expose their children to healthy competition, how they can make more informed decisions about what instructor is right for a child, and how they can help a child select the best after-school activity for him or her.  

This event is free and open to the public. Click here for directions to Attea Middle School. 
 

Testing Dark Waters: Stories of Unhappily Ever Afters

Testing Dark Waters:
Stories of Unhappily Ever Afters

 1:30 pm, Arlington Heights Memorial Library
On Saturday, April 12, 2014, The Book Stall and the Arlington Heights Memorial Library are partnering to present a powerhouse quartet of YA authors in a program called "Testing Dark Waters: Stories of Unhappily Ever Afters." Hear Joelle Charbonneau (The Testing), Kat Falls (Inhuman), Elizabeth Fama (Plus One), and Demitria Lunetta (In the After) tell us how they create the dark, thrilling worlds that take their readers on adventures that are beyond their imagination but are closer to real life than they might want to think.  Kids can learn where the authors find their ideas, what it's like to get published, and some behind-the-scenes details of their novels'  creation. 
 
Location: Arlington Heights Library, April 12, 2014 at 1:30 p.m.
   




 
 
 
 
 
 
From top left:
Joelle Charbonneau, Kat Falls, Elizabeth Fama, and Demetria Lunetta. 




This event is a must for fans of Divergent and The Hunger Games who are looking for new worlds to explore. It's also free! The library requests registration by clicking here or calling 847 392-0100.
 

2014 Spring Book Discussion Group

The Book Stall's Book Clubs
 Wednesdays, 9:30 - 11 am at the store
  
2014 Spring Book Discussion Group

Wednesday, April 16
by Anthony Marra
Led by Suzanne Hales

Wednesday, April 23
by Donna Tartt
Led by Ellen Sandrock

Wednesday, April 30
by Simon Van Booy
Led by Jane Levine

Wednesday, May 7
by Nickolas Butler
Led by Nancy Buehler

Wednesday, May 14
We
by Yevgeny Zamyatin
Led by Julia Denne

Wednesday, May 21
by Alice Hoffman
Led by Holly Marihugh

Wednesday, May 28
by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
Led by Elise Barack

There is a $5 charge to participate in book discussion groups, fully redeemable for merchandise in the store.

Meet Marlo Thomas

MARLO THOMAS
       Friday, April 11
    12 noon, Luncheon, The Union League Club
Hear actress, social activist, and bestselling author Marlo Thomas deliver the empowering message, "the best is yet to come," found in her new book, It Ain't Over: Reinventing Your Life -- and Realizing Your Dreams -- Anytime, at Any Age . In it she writes about 60 women who prove it's never too late to live out a dream to launch a business, travel the world, get a PhD, indulge a creative impulse, or fill a void in life with a challenging new experience.  

Click here to read or hear an excerpt from the book on its Simon & Schuster website.

Event details:   12 noon, Luncheon, The Union League Club
For reservations or to order an autographed book, call The Book Stall at 847 446-8880.

Richard Easton at The Book Stall


RICHARD EASTON
       Thursday, April 10 at 7:00 pm
    7 pm at The Book Stall
Richard Easton, an MLA graduate of the Univeristy of Chicago, speaks on the fascinating subject of his book GPS Declassified: From Smart Bombs to Smartphones. In it he and co-author Eric Frazier take a behind-the-scenes look at the development of GPS from its secret, Cold War military roots to its emergence as a worldwide consumer industry. 

Click here to hear Easton and Frazier being interviewed about their book on the Wake Forest University NPR affiliate WFDD. 

National Poetry Month


April is the month we celebrate poetry in all its glory. Watch the Book Stall web site for information about a poetry night at the store on Wednesday, April 16, and come in for a look at some wonderful new collections, including Poem Depot: Aisles of Smiles by Douglas Florian. For those who love Shel Silverstein's  classics, it's a natural choice.  an example:

   Insect Asides
A dragonfly is not a fly.
It's not a dragon either.
No butter on butterfly,
And bees cannot spell either.

An Invitation to Lunch, no fooling



Please join us for lunch at the store at 12 noon on Tuesday, April 1, and the opportunity to meet two authors with intriguing novels about the Roaring 1920s. Our guest will be New York writer Suzanne Rindell, whose book The Other Typist was named one of the outstanding books of 2013 by Kirkus Reviews and is being released in paperback on Tuesday.  Set in New York in 1924, it's been described by one reviewer as "ever-so noir and a touch Gatsbyesque...a novel so cinematic that it reads as if it's in preproduction." Read about the plot below, and check this review in the New York Daily News.





Ms. Rindell will be interviewed about her book by Renee Rosen, a Chicago writer well familiar with that point in time. Renee's book Dollface: A Novel of the Roaring Twenties came out last year. It's the story of a flapper in Chicago in the 1920s, a city alive with the wild fun of jazz, speakeasies, and a new kind of woman.

We'll serve a light lunch. No reservations necessary.