Join us for Rep Night at the store

"Rep" Night at The Book Stall for our customers takes place this year on Wednesday, Oct. 22, from 7 - 9 pm. You're invited to join us and the Midwest sales representatives from some of the country's most prominent publishers for an evening of book talk about the seasons hottest new titles. There will be favors!

Garth Stein


 
Garth Stein, author of the international bestseller The Art of Racing in the Rain, will join us on on Sunday, October 5 at 3 pm for a reading from his new novel, A Sudden Light. It's a great story about a family confronting long-buried secrets surrounding a legendary mansion built on Puget Sound from the spoils of a massive timber fortune. We've all loved it!

Barbara Shoup

October 5th at 1 pm, our Children's Department starts off a very busy month of activities with young adult author Barbara Shoup, discussing her historical novel, Looking for Jack Kerouac

 It's the tale of a boy who discovers Kerouac's "On the Road" while on a 1964 school trip to New York City and begins to question the life he will lead after high school.

Chris Jones on Sept. 29

Date Correction
CHRIS JONES
Monday, September 29
(Not Wednesday, October 1)
12 noon, Luncheon
The Standard Club, 320 S. Plymouth Court, Chicago

Chicago Tribune theater critic Chris Jones talks about his book Bigger, Brighter, Louder, an instant classic covering 150 years of theater in Chicago as seen through the eyes of Tribune critics.  

Click here to read more about it on the University of Chicago Press website. You'll find a list of reviews that have appeared in the Tribune through the years.

For reservations or to order an autographed book, please call The Book Stall at 847 446-8880.

Please note:
The correct date for this program is Monday, September 29, not Wednesday, October 1, as originally reported.

Two events with Gen. Tony Zinni

Two Appearances
Gen. TONY ZINNI
Wednesday, September 24
12 noon, Luncheon at The Union League Club
65 West Jackson Blvd., Chicago
Thursday, September 25
12 noon, Luncheon at the University Club of Chicago
76 E. Monroe, Chicago
Gen. Tony Zinni, commander-in-chief of CENTCOM and special envoy to the Middle East before his retirement, speaks about his very timely new book, Before the First Shots are Fired: How America Can Win or Lose Off the Battlefield.  He draws on his five decades of military experience and lessons from past wars to set out vital preconditions for successful military intervention any time--and anywhere--in the future.

For reservations to either event, or to order an autographed book, please call The Book Stall at 847 446-8880.

Kevin Emerson

KEVIN EMERSON
Thursday, September 25
4:30 pm at The Book Stall
 
Our guest today is Kevin Emerson, the author of the middle grade novel The Fellowship for Alien Detection, and the YA dystopian series The Atlanteans. His new book, Exile, is the realistic story of a young woman who manages a high school rock band. Kevin brings his years of alt-rocker experience to this book -- and he might just have his guitar along for his visit.  

Book Stall children's department manager Robert McDonald recommends Exile for fans of John Green and Antony John.

Space Theme

WILLIAM ALEXANDER, STUART GIBBS
Wednesday, September 24
4:30 pm at The Book Stall
We welcome National Book Award-winning author William Alexander and Stuart Gibbs for a space-themed afternoon celebrating their new books. 

Alexander's is Ambassador, a sci-fi adventure about a 12-year-old boy who is appointed Earth's ambassador to the universe.  Gibbs, who wowed us last
year with his zoo mystery Belly Up, has a new mystery, Space Case, set on the moon.

Your 8-12-year-olds will love these books!