Richard Fizdale


Tuesday, October 21
11:30 am, Luncheon
Woman's Athletic Club, 626 N. Michigan Ave., Chicago
Former Leo Burnett CEO Richard Fizdale presents his beautifully illustrated book, 999: A History of Chicago in Ten Stories, detailing the wealth, greed, power, corruption and even murder that accompanied the rise of the building at 999 Lake Shore Drive, arguably the most beautiful and historic residence ever built in Chicago
 
Click  here for a  very positive Kirkus review of the book.

For reservations or to order an autographed book, please call The Book Stall at 847 446-8880.

Kathy Reichs


Tuesday, October 21
12 noon, Luncheon
University Club of Chicago, 76 E. Monroe 
 
Forensic scientist, archaeologist, and bestselling author Kathy Reichs (also a Chicago native and PhD grad of Northwestern) talks about her latest "Bones" suspense novel, Bones Never Lie. Back again is forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperance "Tempe" Brennan, this time in a battle of wits against the most monstrous adversary she's ever encountered.

Click  here for the author's website, full of information and even an interactive lab video where readers can help Tempe solve a case.

George Hagen


Tuesday, October 21
4:30 pm at The Book Stall
Join us for an After-School Special with George Hagen, author of the new middle grade novel Gabriel Finley & the Raven's Riddle. Mr. Hagen has written two novels for adults, The Laments and Tom Bedlam. His new book, his first for young people, will appeal to fans of Percy Jackson, Harry Potter, and The Mysterious Benedict Society.
For more information about the author and his work, click here to reach his website.

G. Neri and Jesse Joshua Watson


Monday, October 20
7 pm, Evanston Public Library, 1703 Orrington Ave.
Join us for a wonderful evening with G. Neri (left), author of Yummy, Ghetto Cowboy, and  Chess Rumble, among others. Mr. Neri will be joined by illustrator  Jesse Joshua Watson (right), who has worked with the author on several titles. Both author and illustrator will discuss their work, answer questions and sign books. In an era when educators, parents, and students are pushing for more diversity in children's books, Mr. Neri has long written fiction featuring young African American men. His work is recommended for grades 5 and up. Children, parents and educators are most welcome. This event is free, but registration is requested by clicking here or calling the library at 847 448-8625.  G

Sleepy Storytime with Tim Sheridan

  A Sleepy Storytime with
  TIM SHERIDAN
 Friday, October 17
   6:30 pm at The Book Stall
 
 
The Book Stall's children's department ends the week on a sleepy note (or should we say with a bang?) as Tim Sheridan joins us for a Sleepy Storytime read of his book Thunder & Lightning, a tale to comfort any child who has ever been afraid of thunderstorms. As always, guests are invited to wear their jammies and bring a favorite stuffed animal.

Mac Barnett and Jon Klassen

MAC BARNETT and JON KLASSEN
Thursday, October 16
4:30 pm at The Book Stall
 
It's a red letter day at The Book Stall! We welcome author Mac Barnett (right) and Caldecott-winning illustrator Jon Klassen as they introduce their new collaboration Sam and Dave Dig a Hole, a deadpan tale full of visual humor. To get the flavor, click here for the book's delightful official trailer. 

Fans of these superstars know well their books well, including Barnett's Count the Monkeys and Extra Yarn (an earlier Barnett-Klassen collaboration) and Klassen's This Is Not My Hat, winner of the 2013 Caldecott Medal.

Nicholas Kristof

Two Appearances
NICHOLAS KRISTOF
Wednesday, October 15
7:30 am, Breakfast at The Union League Club
and
5:30 pm, a Chicago Council on Global Affairs Program
InterContinenal Chicago, 505 N. Michigan Ave. Chicago

Two-times Pulitzer Prize-winning New York Times journalist Nicholas Kristof speaks about A Path Appears: Transforming Lives, Creating Opportunity, written with his wife Sheryl WuDunn. In it, they give practical results-driven advance about how each person can make a difference by giving and the benefits gained in return.

Click here  for a Random House excerpt of the book, starting with Chicago epidemiologist Dr. Gary Slutkin, who diagnosed Chicago's gang violence problem as an infectious disease and started an organization called Cure Violence, a model that has spread to other cities.

For reservations to the Union League Club breakfast or to order an autographed book, please call The Book Stall at 847 446-8880. For reservations to the Chicago Council on Global Affairs program, click here.